Skip to main content
Skip header

The University of Bielsko-Biala (Akademia Techniczno-Humanistyczna w Bielsku-Bialej) was founded in October 2001 as an independent governmental academic institution. Previously, since 1969, it had been a branch of the Technical University of Lodz (Politechnika Lódzka). The machine-design, electrical and textile industries are traditional for the region so the main education areas have been long established. However, with the change in the economy other fields of study including management, humanities, environmental and computer sciences, have been developed. 

At present, about 5,000 students are studying at five faculties: Faculty of Mechanical Engineering and Computer Science; Faculty of Materials, Civil and Environmental Engineering; Faculty of Management and Transport; Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences, and Faculty of Health Sciences. The University employs about 400 people, including 200 experienced professors and other members of the academic staff. As the only higher educational institution in the Podbeskidzie region, The University of Bielsko-Biala is a vibrant community of ambitious individuals who contribute to the University’s research and didactic potential by constantly attaining their professional, educational and social goals. The University is firmly rooted in the region which is reflected in various enterprises with the community members and also in its research interests.

University of Bielsko-Biala, Bielsko-Biala, Poland