Czech Republic                        Prague

Area:78 864
Population: 10,3 mil
Currency:Czech crown (CZK) (1EUR = 28 CZK)

The Czech Republic is a formation of three historical lands of the imperial and royal Crown - Bohemia, Moravia and Silesia. At the head of the Republic there is a president who is elected for a term of five years by the Parliament. Parliament consists of two chambers - the Chamber of Deputies and the Senate. The supreme body of executive power is the Cabinet and its Prime Minister.

The Czech Republic is situated in Central Europe . It is a land-locked country protected by mountain rangers on all its sides and sharing borders with in the west, in the north, in the south and in the east.

Ostrava is the third biggest city in the Czech Republic , 4 hours away from Prague and Vienna by rail and 1 hour from Prague by plane. Ostrava is surrounded by the Beskydy and the Jeseníky mountains, the terrain of which enable one to do all kinds of winter and summer sports including hiking, skiing and walking tours. The history of Ostrava dates back to the 13th century, when it was mentioned for the first time in writing as a tributary town in testament of Bishop of Olomouc. Discovering coal in Ostrava, establishing the iron works and connecting the city to the Northern Ferdinand railway resulted in extensive industrialisation of Ostrava and surroundings. After the establishment of Czechoslovakia there was another expansion of industry and cultural life. Today, Ostrava with its 335 000 inhabitants is strengthening its metropolitan position as an administrative, trade, industrial and social centre of the region, in spite of declining traditional industries which needs the complex transformation of the region.

There are two universities in the city: the Technical University in Poruba with seven faculties and the University of Ostrava in the centre of the city with four faculties.




Prague Information Service

© 2019 VŠB-TU Ostrava